Passengers who fail to self-quarantine will be issued court order for mandatory quarantine

  • by

The government of St. Vincent and the Grenadines (SVG) has implemented a self-quarantine requirement for travelers from several COVID-19 infected countries to SVG in response to the global pandemic.

Passengers arriving in the state from China, Iran, South Korea, United States of America (including Puerto Rico), United Kingdom, European Union (including Italy and overseas departments of France (Guadeloupe, Martinique, St. Martin, French Guiana and Canada are reminded that they must self-quarantine for 14 days.

According to the Ministry of Health, Wellness and the Environment (MOHWE) and the Royal SVG Police Force (RSVGPF), this is not optional. Failure to self-quarantine will result in the issuance of a court order for mandatory quarantine.

Both governmental bodies have advised that the court orders will be strictly enforced .

The MOHWE and RSVGPF are soliciting the public’s cooperation and compliance as they seek to curb the spread of COVID-19 in SVG.

“Remember, you have a role to play in minimizing its spread. Be Smart! Be Safe! Be Responsible!”

Minister of Agriculture, Hon. Saboto Caeser is encouraging persons to report travelers who fail to abide by the self-quarantine requirement.

“If you see someone who recently returned, out and about… report them PLEASE!!!,” he said via Facebook.